Welcome, Mr. President

presidents-c1 Dear Mr. President,

In the spirit of the profound priciples of liberty, justice, fairness, and comity expressed inour Constitution, an agreement by and among those to be governed as to how they shall be governed, and to which this day you have so dutifully sworn to uphold, I pray that God and your conscience may guide you and this nation forward.

We will differ on matters of policy, Mr. President, of that I am sure.  But I will respect you, sir, in a manner  befitting the Chief Executive and Commander in Chief of my nation, and I expect that you will return such respect as befits me, and all citizens, as your employer.

For all of our differences during the campaign, and for all those differences that we may/will have in the future, allow me to take just a minute of this day to thank you bringing to mind the sacrifices made in defense of this nation by our brothers,  and our near brothers. 

You said: “For us, they fought and died, in places like Concord and Gettysburg; Normandy and Khe Sahn. ” Many Americans did so, Mr. President, and their deaths should never be forgotten. But many more Americans fought and lived in places like Concord and Gettysburg; Normandy and Khe Sahn, (And, if you will excuse me, Mr. President, also in places with names such as Falujah. I assume that you’ve heard of it, yes?) My point being that we should revere and cherish and commit to  those heroes still living amongst us, even as we honor those who are departed. 

It is without question that for those who sacrificed limbs and eyes and faculties in furtherance of our defense there is a national debt that can never be fully repaid, but only gratefully acknowledged, and then committed.  I would have liked to hear that acknowledgement from you today, Mr. President.  I will be thrilled to hear it from you soon.

I’m no bomb thrower, Mr. President.   All that I am asking is that you not  forget that all those providing that “last full measure of devotion” to our nation did not expire on the field of battle, but might linger years, or even decades, until their debt is paid in full.  We have to understand that we owe an obligation to our citizen soldiers that is everlasting and signed in blood. For those who have perished that obligation becomesthe honored abstract, and a such is worthy content for uplifting speeches.  For those who have survived the harms we asked them to confront, however, our national obligation it is immediate and corporeal.  Before we begin dithering with the UAW, GM, CITIGroup, BofA, or the Whoeverthehellisthe Next Bailout, Inc., over which less than worthy operation  should get taxpayer relief, we need to make sure that there is not a single serviceman or woman awaiting the same.

You should know this already, Mr. President.  Please say it aloud.

Consider these, your own, words:

We remain a young nation, but in the words of Scripture, the time has come to set aside childish things. The time has come to reaffirm our enduring spirit; to choose our better history; to carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea, passed on from generation to generation: the God-given promise that all are equal, all are free and all deserve a chance to pursue their full measure of happiness.

In reaffirming the greatness of our nation, we understand that greatness is never a given. It must be earned. Our journey has never been one of shortcuts or settling for less. It has not been the path for the faint-hearted – for those who prefer leisure over work, or seek only the pleasures of riches and fame. Rather, it has been the risk-takers, the doers, the makers of things – some celebrated but more often men and women obscure in their labor, who have carried us up the long, rugged path towards prosperity and freedom.

Earning it, Mr. President, is what I’m all about here.   This government has somehow found a trillion dollars to hand out to banks in trouble.  Pardon my skepticism, Mr. President, but I’m not seeing legions of investment bankers as this nation’s alternative to a single Marine on sentry duty in Kabul, nor so I see a single investmant banker volunteering to be that Marine.  As investments go, this one is a stinker.

 How about instead you focus less than one thousanth of the stimulus amount towards aiding service men and women and their families? These are persons who not only “earned it”,  in every sense of the word, but also those that laid down their lives for each and every one of us, and did so at zero percent interest.  Ask your staff to keep drilling down until they find that old saw about how every ounce of loyaly is rewarded ten fold, and then ask WellsFargo about how that asset shows up on their balance sheet.

But if all else fails, Mr. President, give me a call.  I know exactly where Earn It lives. And Greatness ?  Damned if she doesn’t live right next door.  

But you knew that already.

God bless you, Mr. President, and may God bless these United States of America.

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Welcome, Mr. President

  1. Yesterday, I sat in front of my computer for quite some time after listening to that speech. In the end, I decided not to write about it yet.

    I just needed to let it, and my emotions, settle for a space before commenting.

    As much as it pains me to allow the Navy to beat the Marines to the punch (figure of speech), I am glad I waited :p

  2. spd rdr

    the Navy always beats the Marines to the punch. How else would your guys get where they’re going? Swim?

  3. KJ

    The lawyers usually arrive before both. We have private jets and 800 numbers.

    Nice advice mr rdr

  4. /smack! 🙂

    Like so much else this week, I’ll let that one go.

  5. Carrie

    I fear your letter will fall on deaf ears, Spd.
    How does President Obama say this “For us, they fought and died, in places like Concord and Gettysburg; Normandy and Khe Sahn.” (and yes, why couldn’t he mention the ongoing sacrifices made in Iraq and Afghanistan..) and then blow off the Medal of Honor Ball? First time a CinC has not made an appearance at that ball in 50 some years.
    I think I know why. It’s okay to associate with us when we’re viewed as victims. Somehow, the Obamas are going to “save” us. I wasn’t aware I needed saving but okay..
    You can’t go to the Medal of Honor ball and treat those in attendance as victims.
    Can’t be done.
    Plus, he really needs to learn how to salute.

    Great letter though..good advice.

  6. spd rdr

    Carrie, I am about fed up with sunshine patriots and half-hearted heroes. One day, President Barrack Obama will encounter a young serviceman or servicewoman outside the lights of the TV cameras and fauning media. That soldier, sailor, airman, or marine, will salute the Commander in Chief as a matter of course, and a matter of respect. I wonder if our new president will recognize that he should return that salute?

    No, I don’t really wonder, I just hope.

  7. Carrie

    Well, spd, if you have low expectations, you are less likely to be disappointed.
    That’s how I’m going to get through the next four years anyway.

  8. There are a lot of times when I’m not entirely certain how I’m going to get through the next 4 years.

  9. spd rdr

    Well, Cass,there’s always the option of consumming copious amounts of liquor, but I don’t recommend it for four years running. Hell, some of us are still dragging ourselves out of the Clinton administration!

    Shinseki seems like a good egg, at least the guy gives a s*it about his troops. Considering the options, I don’t think that we are in any worse shape than a week ago.
    If I’m wrong – please kill me.

  10. If I’m wrong – please kill me.

    You’re too big :p

    Or I’m too little. Or something like that.

    Seriously, I don’t think the problems at the VA lie in anyone not caring. They’re institutional in nature.

    I sat through a series of meetings yesterday at which I had to listen to a bunch of stuff about how various Cabinet departments ‘will get more money/attention’ under Obama. One being the VA.

    It was all I could do not to roll my eyes. I’ll believe it when I see it.

  11. Don Brouhaha

    The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

    And that applies to both political parties, and all the GDI’s in between.

    The only thing you can really bank on is if people are willing to take personal responsibility for the things that they are put in charge of. And most politicians are past masters at buck passing.

    And that goes hand in hand with with worrying about the future. I would not get too personally invested in the ebb and flow of political hoo-hah at this point. The one person that has the most impact on the course of your life is the same one that stares back at you in the mirror every morning.

  12. KNOCK KNOCK KNOCK

    Helloooooooooooooooooooooo…….

  13. Don Brouhaha

    Where HAS Mr. rdr gone?

    C’mon man, share a little with the great unwashed out here.

  14. Reminds me of an extremely insensitive joke involving an amorous gorilla. The punch line:

    “He don’t call… he don’t write… ” :p

  15. Don Brouhaha

    Please, whatever you do, DON’T be insensitive! {:^)

  16. You know, if the two of us keep this nonsense up long enough, he’ll HAVE to post something, if only to tell the two of us to STFU :p

  17. Don Brouhaha

    I know. We have to stop meeting like this.

    People will talk. Probably Portia or Pooke, or Pile On.
    Whatever happened to Pile On?

  18. As flies to wanton boys,
    are we to the Vowelless;

    Pile is hardly working in the fields of the unchurched. He just doesn’t comment much. No doubt he has been stunned senseless by the searing logic of my posts of late.

  19. Don Brouhaha

    Logic that was seared…SEARED..into his senses.

    No doubt: {:^)

  20. [jonesing on the cool echo effect]

    Pile is often ‘seared’ by the ineffable certitude of the female mind.

  21. Pile On

    I do feel like I have been seared, but please no almond crust.

    Hello Don.

  22. Portia

    I thought I heard my name….

    You know, if the two of us keep this nonsense up long enough, he’ll HAVE to post something.

    Five’ll get you ten, he forgot his password. Again:)

  23. Portia!!! 🙂

    Five’ll get you ten, he forgot his password. Again:)

    Doesn’t mean we can’t torment him…

    Natural talent like this demands an outlet.

  24. Don Brouhaha

    Portia! Pile On! Hiya dreamboat! Howdy shipwreck. Okay enough of the nautical metaphors.

    This feels like Christmas! Well, not really, that’s just a figure of speech.

    But still.

  25. Portia

    But still:)

    Don! Princess! Pile!
    Whassup?

  26. We have missed you, Portia. It’s nice to see your name again (boy that sounds odd, but a screen name is all you see on the Intertubes).

  27. O Great God of Heigh HO.

    We poor mortals are like unto ants atop the monster truck tire of your majesterial blogiliciousness. Have mercy upon us.

  28. Pile On

    28 Comments, this is the hottest freakin’ site on the Intertubes.

Leave a Reply

